Saturday, July 18, 2015

A Life Learning Lesson

Back from the quilt show today. I started out this morning so excited to think of the community viewing my Fire quilt, thinking of all the possible reactions. Yeah. About that. First of all, going to drop off my quilts yesterday was a bit of a stressor. My one and only email from the quilt guild informed me that drop-off for all quilts was between 5-7 pm. on Friday, July 17 or Saturday beteween 7 and 8 am.
Me and my quilts have had a very long day....
I got there by 5:15 pm on Friday and found locked doors. After awhile, I went back home and read my email. Hmm.. Yep. Right time, right place. So I made a couple phone calls {no answer} and then went back to the building to wait. This time I noticed {through the slit in the draperies} that quilts were already hanging. Uh oh. Wow. I've only been bringing quilts to their quilt show for about eight or nine years now--this has never happened! I waited a bit and then finally went back home thinking surely someone would eventually get back to one of my messages. When they did, I found out the guild had met earlier in the day to hang the quilts, but they said they would still take my entries and those I was dropping off for a friend.
Not even this much light on my quilt and the side was crumpled
into the corner.....
Okie Dokie. It's odd not to get the word out, but I'm not part of the guild so really, they have zero obligation to inform me of any change in plans. But.... when I went to view the quilt show today, I was told that 'because I was late in getting my quilts there, they didn't have any room to hang my quilts except in the very back.' The thing is, I hadn't asked and was barely in the door! I don't expect preferential treatment when I'm not part of the guild so it was just, well, odd.

My mom and I toured the entire quilt show together and then I noticed this quilt of mine in a sort of the middle to the back quilting bay. Across from that bay, but over on the side so a little harder to get full view, was one of the quilts I had brought for my friend. Okay, not too bad considering I'm not part of the guild and was 'late' getting my quilts there. Both quilts were fairly well lit and you could see every bit of each quilt.

A couple quilting bays later {one filled with Christmas quilts} I noticed that they had lined a narrow hallway area behind the main quilting area with quilts. Mom and I wandered down through there and noticed that other than one more quilting bay {filled with antique quilts} that was all the rest of the quilts in the show--a dead end! My friends second quilt was directly beside that last quilting bay and then farther on down this narrow hallway was a couple other non-showy quilts and then finally two more of my quilts--very bad lighting and no room to see anything. Turn the corner one at a time {or shove someone into a quilt} and the hallway narrowed down even further into an isosceles triangle.

Guess where the other three quilts were? Jammed into that little corner with the Fire Quilt right up at the narrow point. You can see more of the quilt in the previous picture here on my blog than you could see of it at the quilt show! Crazy huh? The light was behind all these quilts because they were directed toward the main part of the quilt show so it was very shadowy and dark. This made it completely impossible to read the bottom {almost 5" tall} letters on my quilt. The lettering on the baskets were also indecipherable and because of the fact that the quilt was crammed into a corner, we couldn't get far enough back to 'see' the quilt as a whole. Or a half? If I stood all the way against the wall across from my quilt, I could reach out my hands and touch the quilt. Wow. Just wow.

Okay. Thinking back, They said I was 'late' for the drop off. Combing local papers, I found a July 13, 2015 notice to the public, never mind an email.  'The guild is accepting entries for the show. Entries must be dropped off at the Pateros Central Building between 7 and 8 a.m. Saturday.

Check. I got there in plenty of time. Hmm... Apparently they had two empty slots for quilts in the middle/back part of the quilt show for some reason. Right? Otherwise how did they find room for two of my late arriving quilts. Oh. Maybe they actually moved a couple quilts? Rearranged some? Again. I don't expect preferential treatment, I'm just glad to see my quilts hung with other community members quilts {and guild politics can probably be brutal}. But why those two and not my fire quilt? Really?

Honestly I felt kind of shunned. It was the only 'Pateros' quilt. It was the only 'Fire' Quilt. It was the only one of its kind and it felt really in tune with the entire memorial theme of the weekend. First anniversary of the fire! Thank you everyone who helped last year! Yay! We survived! Everywhere you turned there was something about the whole fire anniversary and the guild didn't think my quilt was relevant enough to put it out where we could actually see it? My two nieces toured the quilt show and couldn't find more than my one {well lit} quilt until they came back later with my daughter, who showed them the rest of the quilts hiding in the back. How many other people didn't realize there were quilts back there? My oldest daughter told me she couldn't take my pictures, there simply wasn't room and the lighting was horrible. It just seemed pointless.

It was crazy. It was terribly disappointing and I just wanted to cry. When I picked up my quilts late in the afternoon, two different women from the guild very nicely told me to bring it back next year and they would hang it up front where more people could see it. I was just scratching my head. Why tell me that when I was saying NOTHING. I made no complaints, agreed that I was late, never made a single frowny face or asked why they HID my quilt. Seriously, I think if they had really wanted to, they could have/would have/should have? hung it where they put my other quilt {the only one of mine that you could clearly see}. I certainly wouldn't have minded. There was obviously room in that spot for largish quilt. But that's where they chose to put the fun looking floral quilt.

So.... this elephant in the room suggests that this was on purpose because, why? Honestly, I wonder if this quilt was one little veto away from being left in the bag it arrived in! Wow. This is a non juried, no awards quilt show, no guidelines whatsoever for entry. The guild, however, is very traditional and I think maybe I pushed one too many boundaries? Were they uncomfortable with the quilt? Obviously. Were they embarrassed by it being in their conventional 'safe' quilt show? I don't know. I did have one very nice guild woman inform me that a visitor from a larger town requested that I be told 'they would love to have that particular quilt displayed in their show'. And now I think--why not? That particular show makes sure that every single quilt is given respect and is well hung, plus well lit. Is that too much to ask?

It was a very disappointing day. I've always heard that you can't expect to take quilts {outside of the norm} to a traditional quilt show and feel happy about the experience. Today I learned the truth of that even though they've always treated me fairly before. There's been times that I didn't receive any feedback on my quilts--that's okay. In fact {to get a glimpse of how shaken I was}, I even asked my mom to tell me the truth of the matter. Is my quilt really that pathetic? Am I kidding myself? I personally think my craftsmanship is excellent, the story isn't offensive, crude or vulgar, the quilt has pleasing colors and more importantly, it is relevant topic right here,right now. Am I blind?  You know I can't believe any of you because you're my very best cheering squad.*wink

 And you know what they say, whomever 'they' are.... Pride goeth before a fall......

**So yeah, go ahead and weigh in on this, but please try not to bash the guild too much. They truly are nice people and I live in a very small community.

45 comments:

  1. Ouch ouch ouch, my heart hurts for you, it really does! It's like the time you entrust your child to the local soccer team and he/she only ever warms the bench. I am not being flippant here I promise, it wrings your very soul because you have so much invested emotionally in both child and such a beautiful quilt.
    I also think that by them hastily placing it in a corner probably hurts more than if they had politely said sorry, no room can we have it next year?
    Art is so subjective and what please some won't please others, ...( I will just whisper here, because I have mocked some modern art in the past...)
    i often have to remind myself in such situations that often people are more careless and thoughtless rather than malicious.....and it helps, it was careless and thoughtless and you need a big Australian bear hug (((((((((((hug))))))))))))))))). Chin up my dear and realise you are way beyond your time, you are a pioneer in your town and one day you will tell your grandchildren how silly some guilds were in the dim dark days! xxxxxx

    ReplyDelete
  2. That's very sad and upsetting. I think you are right, that the unique style and subject matter of your quilt made these ladies uncomfortable. Or it could be as simple as---they unpacked your other quilt first, it was done in a hurry, with no thought or judgement[?].
    I wouldn t participate again.
    Though I suppose if you join the guild you ll be treated nicer.

    Your Fire quilt is amazing, a beautiful work of original art, from your heart and soul. It is also a lovely compostion. And meaningful to you. Be proud.

    love

    lizzy

    ReplyDelete
  3. What a miserable first showing for your amazing quilt. I agree that several factors may have been at play, but I also think the quilt probably made them uncomfortable on a couple of levels. I hope you go on to display it at the other community show - your quilt deserves a better venue and some appreciation. I would urge you to think about entering it in some larger regional, state or even national shows!

    ReplyDelete
  4. So many hearts are aching for you today as we read this post, whatever the underlying reasons, this never should have happened, to you or any quilter who puts her heart and soul into a creation. But don't let your spirit be broken by this thoughtless action Audrey, your God-given talent shines through in every piece of art you create through your quilts. The Fire Quilt is so deserving of a much larger audience than the local show, please consider entering it in some regional or even national shows, along with a written narrative of the story behind the quilt. Story quilts so often draw a lot of interest at the shows we've attended, and your quilt will be appreciated for its story, and the amazing and thoughtful way it is presented.

    ReplyDelete
  5. sorry to hear about the sad spot for your special quilt. I have had many judges "not get" my work. That is what happens when you have a unique design and a personal story. It hurts. I do wonder why all the apologies and not more compliments on your work?
    Also I just have to ask: why are you not a member of a guild in a small town where you live?

    ReplyDelete
  6. I'm not sure what happened there! first of all if they said they were accepting quilts at a certain time that should be it - not everyone reads the newspaper - emails should have been sent out - in my opinion. Phone calls should have been returned. It this is a very traditional guild they might have been uncomfortable with your modern story quilt - but even so it should have been hung properly. You might want to try another show to see what happens. On the guild part - a lot of people are happy with their small town guilds but I believe I have mentioned to you that I am not happy with mine and do not belong to it anymore - small town guilds are not always as great as some think they are. Very clickish and that might be what happened here - you are not a member, they didn't understand your quilt - therefore it got shoved to the back?

    ReplyDelete
  7. I read your story and wondered what was going on. You weren't "late" if they were accepting quilts on the Saturday morning, and you arrived on the Friday afternoon. Whatever. It was a sad and hurtful episode. Even if, as you mentioned your quilts are too "way out" for the traditionalists in the guild, surely a show should display a variety of styles? It would be terribly boring if it was all one style of quilt. Turn your back on that and plan to show it at a bigger show as Angie suggested.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I am so sorry to read this. I was thinking about you yesterday, knowing it was show day. Your quilt is wonderful and the story of your quilt is giving so many of us an opportunity to share is the process of grief and healing. Thank you for being brave enough to share.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I hear you about non-traditional quilts in a quilt show. My guild asked me to make the charity quilt one year. I spent 100 hrs. designing, appliqueing and hand quilting that quilt only for it to be shunned because it was deemed an "art quilt" not a traditional quilt. That hurt. I entered another self-designed quilt in a show and I don't think it even got a nod. Not that I expected a ribbon but when I read the comments by the judge saying that I needed to improve my curved piecing - I was shocked. The whole quilt was appliqued and so it was obvious that the judges hadn't looked at it very closely. I've decided that I don't need to enter any more shows. I'm so sorry that you weren't happy about the quilt show. The whole reason to make the quilt was to get your feelings out there. I hope you decided to enter it in the other show.

    ReplyDelete
  10. So sorry. It's hard to know what they were thinking. Given what those women said when you picked up the quilts it sounds like it was intentional but not the feelings of the entire group. You have a whole year before you have to think about next years show. In the meantime, I agree with others. Look for other venues for sharing your quilts. Especially the fire quilt. Sounds like you already have an offer for another show. Good to hear that. I'd focus on that offer rather than what's already happened. Take care.

    ReplyDelete
  11. So sorry your very special (and timely, and relevant) quilt did not get the care it deserves. Who knows the how and why these decisions are made. You would have to get into the heads of the 'quilt police' and that sometimes is just impossible. Good luck showing it at the other shows that sound like they will love exhibiting your quilt. If they are seeking you out - that is all good!!! As far as next year.. hmmm. I would approach with caution. :-)

    ReplyDelete
  12. I do not belong to any guilds nor have I entered a quilt in any quilt shows (other than an online one). I think I would have an honest conversation with the guild president as to your questions and feelings.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Guilds tend to be very clique, probably especially so in small towns but as always that feeling rarely extends to all members... hence the comments as you were picking uo your quilts. The fire is going to be a "sensitive" topic for quite some time to come and whilst your quilt was part of your own healing process, it may cause unwelcome memories for others. It would be nice to take advantage of the offer to hang your quilt in another show.
    Having said all that, the Pateros guild must have some dedicated quilters to put on an annual show. I am a member of a small town guild also and we only aim for a show every three years, they're a huge amount of work.

    ReplyDelete
  14. I know exactly how you feel! I entered two primitive companion quilts in my local show after several quilters from my guild asking me to (not part of any guild after this!). They were placed in different rooms on opposite corners of the rooms--as far away as possible. After walking around and looking at the entries in the show, it was obvious that they do NOT like primitive quilts featuring wool and chunky hand stitching. The only quilts that had won anything were huge, appliqued, needle turn, professionally quilted, quilts...I have never bothered to enter anything again and do not go anymore. This year I scheduled a quilting retreat for the weekend the local show was held. The local guilds--there are three of them--and the local quilting community seems to be worse for cliques and snarky behavior than high school. No thanks!!! This is why I now go on-line for inspiration and community....

    ReplyDelete
  15. As a member of more than one guild I can promise you that every guild has 'organizational issues'. The decisions are often made for the whole Group by one or two people who are self-designated as 'in charge' whether they hold any title or not. The comments you received were probably heart felt apologies from individuals in the group who were very unhappy with how the quilts were hung. I know I've been down right embarrassed by some of the things individuals in my guilds have passed off as 'guild' decisions. I'm sorry you had a bad experience, it's probably safe to say that others did as well and that's sad. My advice to you is to not take any of it personally and keep smiling. Things could be worse, at least those folks aren't in Your family. :)

    ReplyDelete
  16. Audrey, I'm curious about how you entered your quilts in the show. I've been q member of three different guilds in the past. At each one we submitted an entry form along with a photo of the.quilt to show the colours and theme of it. This was so the designers of the show could plan a layout. Was this requested of yours if not I wonder how they plqnned they layout, no wonder it was so disorganized.

    Hopeful you will be contacted by the second guild and your quilt will have a place of honour and respect.

    ReplyDelete
  17. Ah geez, Unfortunately this sounds like something that may happen in my small pitiful town. With the anniversary of the fire I thin it would have been completely appropriate to hang it where people could SEE it and FEEL emotions about it. I'm so sorry. I hope you enter it into the other larger show.

    ReplyDelete
  18. I am sorry your amazing and heartfelt quilt did not get the showing it deserved...traditional or not it deserved to be shown front and center as a tribute to what the community went through and recovered from...it was an honor for the guild to present it first and they let the community down...

    Hoping there is a larger show for you to present this quilt in...it deserves to be seen and appreciated...

    ReplyDelete
  19. They have no valid excuses for doing that to you and your quilts. Maybe they are not so "nice" after all.
    I mean really--your quilt is a personal depiction of that fire! I don't care how "conventional" they are (more like with blinders on!!) and.... Instead of taking the opportunity of educating themselves on other ways of quilt making, they chose to "hide" yours away. I am so sorry that you had such a hurtful experience. This type of thing is why I no longer belong to any guild or group...just too cliquey!!
    Big hugs, Julierose

    ReplyDelete
  20. As in any group of workers for a community event, there are 10% of people who do the actual work. They are probably the same people who did the work in previous years. I would think they would like a quilt that would bring in an audience to help them raise funds for the next year. One person would tell others to come see this quilt. I would personally like to view a lot of different quilts, than all traditional. It is fun to get up close, to see the techniques and methods used. I am so sorry that you had a bad experience, after all your hard work. I am a former Home Economics instructor & I can say it has nothing to do with your workmanship. I have viewed many of your quilts close up on my screen. Your quilts are well made/color balanced/ and hang square. After helping this quild for many years with providing quilts to view, I believe you were treated unfairly. I hope all your quilts get a chance to be viewed by a wider audience. Please reconsider entering your quilts in other shows!!

    ReplyDelete
  21. I've read the comments above and as much as I don't disagree with most of them, my biggest issue would be the lack of communication on regards to the drop off time. I would attend the next guild meeting at hammer that point home. Not being a member of the guild, and the "late drop off" probably influenced the placement more than the quilt subject or workmanship. I would go to your library and see if they have a place to hang it, take it to your local fall fair, (if you have one) and continue to show your amazing piece to as many people as possible, it has been created from your heart and tears and emotion and your hands, it is an amazing piece of work. If the fire department has an event, get your quilt into it. Continue to create from your heart and do not let this one tiny blimp in the journey of life get to you. As for the comment "why aren't you a guild member?", I can understand why on many levels. (((big hugs)))

    ReplyDelete
  22. I think the fact that excuses/apologies were so hastily volunteered makes it clear it wasn't a 'group' decision. You'll probably never know the whole story, and considering the fact that it's a small town, you might be happier never knowing the whole story. Hugs to you and your beautiful quilt.

    ReplyDelete
  23. Your post reminded me of a conversation I had with a neighbour a couple of days ago. She is a member of a local Golf Club ( lots of rules that as a non-golfer I don't understand!) and she entered a special Golf Day where 3 ladies are put together to play the round of golf. One woman was rude to her all day, was imperious or ignored her by turns and my neighbour had a thoroughly miserable day. The other lady( who had had the misfortune to play with objectionable player before )was extremely embarrassed at the end of the round, apologizing profusely for the other woman's behaviour. My neighbour has since learned that many people at the club have complained to the Captain and refuse to be partners with this woman ever again. My viewpoint is that until she is challenged by the Captain on this matter, or everyone refuses to play with her, thn she will continue ith her bad behaviour. In my book it's bully behaviour and bullies need challenging. Same with your Quilt Show experience. Don't lie down and say nothing because the bullies at the Guild will never learn the error of their ways and the other pleasant ladies will continue to play damage control around the edges!

    ReplyDelete
  24. I'm sorry for the bad experience you had with your fire quilt. I feel your frusteration and can unfortunately relate. I think your quilt tells a heartbreaking and difficult story very well and I hope you will put it in other shows so more people can see and appreciate it.

    ReplyDelete
  25. I developed a lump in my throat while reading this. First of all, poor communication for an event such as this is not acceptable. Secondly, I find the quilt visually striking and quite moving, and I can't imagine anyone not having the same reaction, particularly if you have ever experienced a natural disaster. I've written to you before saying that we may not have fires here in the northeast, but we do get hurricanes, and looking at the Pateros quilt evoked the same feelings of fear, loss and sadness I've had when one of these monsters has whipped through. Thirdly, I think the guild sounds extremely traditional and perhaps only willing and able to judge and exhibit the basics. You have exemplary skills, Audrey, and I've learned a lot from you (and I've been quilting for over 22 years). Anything beyond a conventional design may have been difficult for this group to assess. Finally, show me the most traditional nine patch, with excellent color choices, tiny even stitches and impeccable piecing - sounds great, right? But show me that same quilt and tell me that the maker was working through a difficult time or was celebrating a joy or was just releasing the stresses of the day, and that quilt will get my vote. Your quilt stands on its own and needs to be shown, front and center.

    ReplyDelete
  26. I'm so sorry that you had such bad experience. I hope it was an oversight by a few members of the guild and not something personal. Your quilt is awesome and I hope you find another venue to share it. I think if you did, you'd see a whole different reaction.

    ReplyDelete
  27. I'm so sorry Audrey! Your quilt was a beautiful gift you wanted to give your community. Hopefully, you will find another place to display and share it.

    ReplyDelete
  28. Geez, Audrey. No wonder you don't join that guild. What a bunch of idiots. I'm thinking there may be some jealousy involved? How insulting, and ... hurtful!

    Hey, you know WE all love you, AND your quilts! Especialy the Pateros quilt, which should have been front and center at that show!

    Ok I better shut up before I embarrass myself ~

    Meanwhile, I think you should try for the national shows.

    ReplyDelete
  29. Oh boy, this sure didn't sound like fun to me. What a disappointment. The very least they could have done was put up a sign "More quilts this way!" or something to that affect. Sounds like they all ready had the quilts in mind that they wanted to showcase. I'm so sorry, but don't doubt yourself and your work. You're a very talented quilter! I say enter your quilts in your County or State fair where they will get the viewing they deserve.

    ReplyDelete
  30. Very hurtful. Who knows what happened on their end. Even though they were wrong, I would choose not to take it personally. You make great quilts. You have lots of feedback telling you that. It sounds to me like the guild was very unorganized....and you got hurt because of it. I find my guild is often like a bunch of chickens with their heads cut off. It bothers me and I know things like this happen in our guild. So....you are a great quilter....feed on the positive and not the results of some unorganized women.

    ReplyDelete
  31. I'm sorry you had such a disappointing experience. I was thinking as I was reading that your quilt probably was too original, too cutting edge, too bold too modern , ect. I personally think that it is best to be open to all things and challenge our views. Maybe you have to find a better audience to appreciate your quilt. It sounds as though you handled the situation wrth a lot of grace - good for you.

    ReplyDelete
  32. I am so sorry you had such a bad experience. People can be so uncaring, unkind, and unnecessary hurtful to eachother. Your quilt is amazing, it comes straight from the heart and it deserves a lot, lot better. No use talking to people like this, they do not and would not get it. Hope you find another or more opportunities to show this quilt, it deserves to be seen.

    ReplyDelete
  33. Yes, that is a bad story. You will never know what happened behind the scenes in the guild. Try not to let it rock you. We all know that there are some women who enjoy being domineering and enforce their opinions on everyone around them. I bet the local guild has their fair share of them. It is absolutely no reflection on your quilt. It is such an amazing, original and genuine reflection of the fire; so powerful and a real credit to you. The worst thing you can do is allow shallow behaviour to hurt you. Chin up, you have many, many on-line admirers.

    ReplyDelete
  34. I'm sorry this happened to you because I know you put so much of yourself into your quilt. I admire that so much! I can't imagine how this guild operates their show. Try not to allow their thinking and actions to affect you!

    ReplyDelete
  35. Oh that hurts just reading it, so sorry you had to experience all that with such beautiful things you make.
    Some things I just do not understand, at your sad weekend seem to be one of those things.
    We say, there is nothing so bad, that not something good can come out of it. Maybe one day we will find out what good came out of all this undconsidered act of ignorance.
    Greetings,
    Sylvia

    ReplyDelete
  36. I am sorry you feel bad. I am surprised the guild takes quilts from non-guild members. In some guilds there are limits to what members can enter - 2, and in many cases they struggle to get enough volunteers and funds to put a show on. Maybe you could join and offer to be on the exhibit committee? Been there, don't that, and it will change your perspective on quilt shows. Also, consider a venue outside your community - why not enter a state or national show?

    ReplyDelete
  37. I'm wondering what the other quilts looked like -- was yours just too different for them? And I can understand that in some guilds, an outsider can be viewed as an intruder. (Not agree, just understand.) Maybe someone's miffed that you do such nice work but won't join?? If they didn't like your quilt, they are entitled to their opinion but they should have been more honest and treated you better. Unless this is a very unique experience, maybe it's time to look for other, more kindred spirits!

    ReplyDelete
  38. This entire experience seems to have been very painful for you. I am so sorry about that. I know how hard you work to express yourself in your quilts and this must have felt like a rejection of you, personally. As someone who reads your blog faithfully (and has 'stalked' you by reading ALL of your old blog posts!), I want you to know that I enjoy your creative mind. You don't just grab a handful of matching fat quarters from one designer's line and make a quick-and-easy quilt (not that there is anything wrong with that; it's just not what YOU do!). Instead, you spend months/years finding just the right fabric or applique that speaks to you, that speaks for you. I know that we out here in blogland, at least, appreciate that.

    ReplyDelete
  39. Oh Audrey - I'm so disappointed for you. All that hard work . It sounds like the organisers of the event don't have a clue what they're doing . No communication about drop off times and hanging quilts in spots that are invisible.

    Your work was relevant and topical, and beautiful. Sadly they couldn't see that , but we all do.

    Im so sorry that this experience wasn't what you hoped for.

    ReplyDelete
  40. So sorry about this, Audrey! Your quilt was not late and someone should have been there to accept quilts at the appointed time but I don't think that it had anything to do with snubbing your art quilt. It sounds as if they were running out of room and probably no one made a decision on where to hang what. If there were more quilts than yours and your friends dropped off 'late' ( though not really late ) they were probably divvied up between a few ladies for last minute hanging. That's the nice way to look at it anyway. hoping it was all on accident. Enter your quilt in the other show yes! :)

    ReplyDelete
  41. Wow I don't even know where to begin! Your work is amazing and you should absolutely enter it into other shows so people can appreciate your work.
    Having been involved in my guild's quilt shows there are some things to think about for sure. Did they accept too many quilts for the space? If they are doing this every year that should not be the case. We are an NQA judged show and we accept every quilt up to our limit. There are a few people in charge of the hanging and I do believe that the only considerations they make is to put the Best of Show in a special spot.
    I don't like every quilt I see but I can appreciate a well made quilt, modern or traditional. I think with the addition of the Modern Quilt Guild, things will be changing as many more traditional quilters see the beauty in a quilt that is more of a work of art than a quilt for the bed. Quilt on!

    ReplyDelete
  42. Just catching up here - oh boy! Send your quilt to the show where it will be treated properly, hang it in the town hall, be proud of it. I don't know why it ended up in such a poor position but it seems to me to be just plain rude to do that to any quilt.

    ReplyDelete
  43. Perhaps they had more quilts than room. I did organize one show but library professionals hung it. I wouldn't want the responsibility.

    ReplyDelete
  44. Just catching up here from a busy summer. Everyone has spoken so eloquently already so here is a comment from left field: this local guild show provided the deadline goal that helped you focus on finishing this extremely important masterpiece that you needed to make. Now the quilt is all ready to be shown in a better venue. I love it, I love all your styles. You inspire me and I wish I could quilt like you. The verb "quilt" does not seem big enough to describe all your talent and skills!

    ReplyDelete
  45. Just catching up here from a busy summer. Everyone has spoken so eloquently already so here is a comment from left field: this local guild show provided the deadline goal that helped you focus on finishing this extremely important masterpiece that you needed to make. Now the quilt is all ready to be shown in a better venue. I love it, I love all your styles. You inspire me and I wish I could quilt like you. The verb "quilt" does not seem big enough to describe all your talent and skills!

    ReplyDelete

Thanks so much for visiting! Getting comments always makes me happy. I try to respond personally to each comment but if you happen to be a 'no-reply commenter' then you'll have to leave an e-mail to be hearing back from me!

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...